Trying to eat more

Recently I posted a picture on my Instagram of sugar-free, protein-rich spice cake. To refresh your memory, here it is again:

protein-rich spice cake

Some of you asked me for a recipe and I decided to write it down for you. I found the recipe here.

Dough: *6 eggs *2 1/2 cups wheat flour *150 grams melted butter *1 cup coconut flour *1 cup almond flour *2 teaspoons baking powder *1/2 teaspoon ground cardamon *2 table spoons ground cinnamon *2 table spoons ground ginger *1 tea spoon ground star anise *1 teaspoon real vanilla *1/2 tea spoon ground cloves

(If you wish to make the dough sweeter, add two table spoons stevia)

spice cake baking instructions

Preheat the oven to 150 degrees and melt the butter. Beat eggs and flour until fluffy. Mix together the dry ingredients and pour into wet ingredients alternatively with the butter. Pour the mixture into a greased oblong baking pan. Bake in the middle of oven for about 30 min. Then take the dough out of the pan and let cool.

Topping: Sugar-free whipped cream

Add a little bit of stevia to the cream and whip it. Spread over the cake. Decorate with fresh strawberries / blueberries / raspberries.


 

You need to know this cake is not for those who are trying to lose weight! It’s high in calories and fat. However, because Derek & me are lately avoiding sugar, it was perfect for us. This cake is also rich in protein value and thus great for me, since I try to eat more protein. I have noticed that since I started increasing protein value of the food I eat, I have already gained some weight. It’s hard for me to gain weight, but I don’t want to be too skinny. I see that increasing the caloric value of my food by adding protein helps a lot! I’m happy to see some results already. Combined with the exercise I do, I hope the additional weight comes in form of muscles 😉

 

One thought on “Trying to eat more

Leave a Reply

